RSS

Turner County Praise Band- Post 1

26 Sep

One September 11, 2011, we began a new service here in my corner of South Dakota.  For a while now, a bunch of us at my fabulous church have been discussing the need there is for an experience or event for the younger generation.  Many ideas had been tossed back and forth, and finally, everything came together and our Sunday night service was born.  Yay!

This group has blessed me on SO many levels.  At home, I led worship at the church I was born in many weekends out of the month.  I worshiped and played with incredible people and it was such a special part of my life.  Anyone out here can tell you that there is a vast difference between country life and city life.  It is because of this dichotomy that I was unsure if I would have the special experience of being in a praise band like I had at home again.

Boy, was I wrong.

First off, I thank God for the dear friend and Starbucks lover he has given me out here.  She, in so many ways has spearheaded this service and above all has listened to the Lord guide her through it all.  She is driven and is an incredible wife and mother.  Thank you God for forerunners like her in my life.

This woman and her husband (who is equally awesome!) rounded up friends they knew that love Jesus and music and we began rehearsing in August.  Our first rehearsal was a big WOW!  You never know what you are going to get what you throw a bunch of musicians together that have never played before and barely know each other.  That’s why God gets the credit for what’s coming.  We sang and played for hours, marveling at the ease of playing together and the blend of it all.

Suffice to say, we’ve rehearsed many times since, and these people are fast becoming a family to me.  Each one is such a profound contributor to what we have as a whole and I am honored to work with them.

Our next service is a week away and I thank God for all He’s done so far.  To Him be all of it.  It’s His.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
